Milan » City Info » Visa Requirements

  • Italy Visa Requirements:

For US citizens: US citizens do not need a tourist or business visa to enter Italy for period less than or equal to 90 days.

Requirements for Non-US citizens:

Whether a US or passport belonging to any other nationality, it must have a 6 months validity from the day of entry into the country for which the visa has been applied for.

Documents needed:

  • Passport or travel document acknowledged by Schengen countries that is valid for 3 months beyond the last day of stay in the country for which the visa has been applied.
  • One blank page on the passport where the visa stamp can be affixed.
  • Proof of nationality or permanent residence (Green card in case of US).
  • 1 Visa application form duly filled and signed in front of the Consular Officer.
  • 1 passport sized photograph
  • Copy of round trip airline ticket or itinerary or confirmation letter from travel agent.
  • Bank statements or other proof sufficing your proof of funds.
  • For tourists; a letter from the employer that a leave has been granted for his/her vacation.
  • For business; a letter from the employer assuring the travel expenses, purpose of travel and the companies to be visited during the trip.
  • Proof of medical/health insurance with coverage applying for entire trip abroad.

All the required documents are to be presented in two sets: 1 original and 1 copy. Once you arrive in Italy, you must register with the Police Department (Questura) and obtain the “Permesso di soggiorno” i.e. the permission to stay in the country.

Some important points regarding Schengen country visas:

  • If you plan to visit only 1 Schengen country then you should apply for the visa through the embassy of the particular country.
  • But if you plan to visit more than 1 Schengen countries then you should apply for the visa through the embassy of the country which is your main destination.
  • If you do not have ‘main destination’, but plan to visit several countries, then you should apply for the visa through the embassy which will be your ‘first port of entry’.
  • If the ‘first port of entry’ or ‘main destination’ is not a Schengen country, then you will need a visa for the other Schengen countries for which you intend to travel. You should apply for the visa of the country which will be your first Schengen country.

List of Schengen countries: Austria, Belgium, (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Liechtenstein (not yet implemented)), Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, (Ireland, United Kingdom (Only police and judicial cooperation rules implemented)), Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Please note: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information.